Traveling Mari

Mari is loving Guatemala!

The Farm September 21, 2013

Filed under: Food,Guatemala — mari @ 4:31 pm

I like to sometimes joke about the garden produce by calling it “child labor salad” but in all seriousness, the garden at the school is great.  This is the school down in Antigua called Oxford, and just to clarify, these kids are in no way going hungry.  The kids have Organic Farming as part of their week, and those who sign up for after-school classes come farm some more with their awesome farming companion, me.

I would like to take this opportunity to show off some photos of The Farm.  I usually get my hands dirty and so am not the one to take photos… But as you can see, the few that I have are quite impressive (right??).  I wish my school growing up had a little farm like this one at Oxford!

 

20130501_143307

Using tires for beds and wine bottles for irrigation during hot days.

 

 

20130704_163342

Mama Chicken! She unfortunately turned into dinner for one hungry cat. I got so attached to this hen, I was devastated…

 

 

 

 

On a field trip to the local organic farm where we get our seeds and seedlings.

On a field trip to the local organic farm where we get our seeds and seedlings.

 

 

Post- Mama Chicken farm animal: Captain Fluffy Jumpalot.  His best friend is the school dog.  Now if I could just get them to snuggle....

Post-Mama Chicken farm animal: Captain Fluffy Jumpalot. His best friend is the school dog. Now if I could just get them to snuggle….

 

3 Responses to “The Farm”

  1. Margy mckelvie Says:

    Love the garden nd the photos!

  2. Etsuko OKADA Says:

    I’m Teppei’s mom and you once stayed in my mother’s house with your friends.
    You look happy with kids at school.

    I feel sorry for the hen. My cats get old but still fine.


Leave a Reply

